Like in any other state, DUI in South Carolina carries with it serious consequences. With the state now working hard to reduce fatalities, new fines and penalties have been put in place. According to the website of Truslow & Truslow, Attorneys at Law, DUI can have life changing ramifications. IN this article, we shall take a look at the fines and penalties associated with DUI in South Carolina.
Penalties for DUI can be affected by previous convictions in the last ten years. In addition, your BAC level will be used to determine the extent of DUI charges. South Carolina is implementing a scaled system which involves stiffer fines, longer jail sentences, and a required completion of substance abuse counseling program. Even if you are a first time offender, you may already be subjected to a mandatory imprisonment.
For a first time offender, the BAC level will be used in determining your jail sentence. If your BAC is 0.08 to 0.10, you are likely to spend at least a couple of days in jail up to a maximum of 30 days. For BAC above 0.10 but less than 0.16, the minimum jail sentence is 3 days and a maximum of 30. If BAC exceeds 0.16, you are likely to spend a minimum of 30 days and a maximum of 90 days in jail.
Aside from jail term, there are also a corresponding fines and penalties. Aside from the BAC at the time of the arrest, your previous offenses will also be considered. For a first time offender, the total fine is $992 plus a 6-month suspension of driving privileges. A second offense will mean a fine of $10,744.50 and a one-year suspension of driving privileges.
If your DUI has been elevated to felony, the mandatory fine amounts to $21,119.50 and 30 days to 15 years imprisonment. When death occurs, the fine could jack up to $52,244.50 and the jail sentence is 1 year to 25 years.